‚ÄčThe Ramsar Wetland Conservation Award was established in 1996 and intends to reward individuals, organisations and governments for their contribution to the promotion of conservation initiatives and the wise use of wetland resources. The Ramsar award is given for three distinct categories: Education, Management and Science. For 2012 winners were the Wisconsin Wetlands Association, Ms Augusta Henriques, and Prof. Tatsuichi Tsujii respectively. The Standing Committee also decided to honour Dr. Luc Hoffman, a founding father of the Convention, with the 40th Anniversary Honorary Ramsar Award for this lifetime support of the causes of the Convention.
A Recognition of Achievement Award was also given to Thymio Papayannis for his contribution to the wise use of wetland resources at the same year. His dedication to nature conservation contributed to the foundation of WWF Greece, the Society for the Protection of Prespa, of the MedWet Initiative and to the promotion of the cultural values of wetlands in Greece, the Mediterranean and worldwide, through his publications.
You can download the Ramsar Wetland Conservation Award brochure from below.
Read More Read Less
Download additional Information